Modern ‘Song of Songs’

So now I come to you, with open arms, Nothing to hide, believe what I say
So here I am with open arms, Hoping you’ll see what your love means to me
Open arms (1).  She’ll let you in her house, If you come knockin late at night, She’ll let you in her mouth, If the words you say are right, If you pay the price, She’ll let you deep inside, But there’s a secret garden she hides(2).  She’s got a light around her And everywhere she goes, A million dreams of love surround her, Everywhere, She comes to me when I’m feelin’ down, Inspires me without a sound, She touches me and I get turned around (3)Woman I know you understand, The little child inside of the man, Please remember my life is in your hands, And woman hold me close to your heart, However distant don’t keep us apart,After all it is written in the stars (4).In a way I know my heart is waking up
As all the walls come tumbling down, I’m closer than I’ve ever felt before
And I know, And you know, There’s no need for words right now (5). More than words
Is all you have to do to make it real, Then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me
‘Cause I’d already know, What would you do if my heart was torn in two
More than words to show you feel, That your love for me is real (6).  Cruisin’ down the westside highway, Doin’ what we like to do our way, Eyes behind shades, this necklace the reason, All of my dates been blind dates, But today, I got my thoroughest girl wit me
I’m mashin’ the gas, she’s grabbin’ the wheel, it’s true to the heart, She rides wit me(7).  Oh, once you get involved, Everyone will look this way-so,
You must maintain your charm, Same time maintain your halo,
Just get the perfect blend, Plus what you have within,
Then next his eyes are squint, Then he’s picked up your scent (8).  Ride it my pony
My saddle’s waiting, Come and jump on it (9).  For your love is like the mountain water:
Clear and sparklin’ as the dew, And to love you until my life is over
Is all I’ve ever wanted from you (10).  Love like mountains, I keep on climbing up and falling down, Its happening again, the lack of oxygen, as I approach the precipice but I can’t get over this (11).  Love bites love bleeds its bringin me to my knees (12).  Every rose has it’s thorn, Just like every night has it’s dawn, Just like every cowboy sings his sad, sad song, Every rose has it’s thorn (13).  You are the sunshine of my life, That’s why I’ll always be around, you are the apple of my eye, Forever you’ll stay in my heart (14)

 (1)  Journey: Open Arms  (2) Bruce Springsteen: Secret Garden  (3) Billie Joel: She’s got a way  (4) John Lennon: Woman  (5) Faith Hill  (6) Extreme: More Than Words                       (7) Beyonce, Jay-Z: Bonnie and Clyde  (8) Kelis: Milkshake  (9) Ginuwine: Pony              (10) 2 Skinnee Js: Love like mountains  (11) Marley’s Ghost:: Your Love is Like the Mountain Water  (12)  Def Leppard: Love Bites  (13) Poison: Every Rose has It’s Thorn  (14) Stevie Wonder: You are the Sunshine of my life.

The lines above are not my own.  After reading Brettler’s introduction to the book of “Song of Songs” I searched through hit songs and extracted various verses.  The only common factor is each song is love.  Brettler suggests that “Song of Songs” may be a collection of poems by many authors sharing a similar genre.  The collection above is a combination of 14 different artists who share a common goal, getting their message across about love, lust, and sex. The suggestion by Brettler is only one of many possibilities, but one that carries great evidence.  The possibility also exist that the writings were secular in nature, only adopted by the Israelites and later canonized in scripture.

Sitting down to read the scroll “Song of Songs” would be equivalent to downloading the top 10 love songs from the 1990’s and the information getting mixed up in the transfer.  You would know the music is messed up and understand what you are hearing, but what if someone heard it 2000 years from now.  Since all songs are related to love, the listener may mistake the tracks as ongoing sonnet, or a performance done for charity by a community of local artists, or perhaps as allegory in reference to a god.  They would encounter the same problems we have today with interpreting ‘Song of Songs’, and the best they could do is guess.

Perhaps we will never fully understand what the authors of ‘Song of Songs’ is truly saying, but we can learn to appreciate the beauty of the writing.  I personally do not want my neck compared to the tower of David, or any tower for that matter.  But for an Israelite who feels that Jerusalem is their heart, the comparison is one of great honor.  And teeth like ewes coming from a washing pool, would be teeth of a brilliant sparkling white.

Some of the metaphors are obvious and others are not.  Much like those in our music today.  Words have double meanings, which leads to ambiguity.  Cultural influence plays a huge role.  And you have to wonder what audience the author is writing for; child (I dought), teen, adult, married, unmarried, the list is endless.

This entry was posted in Class Discussion, Miscellaneous Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

